Georgia Peanut Commission

445 Fulwood Blvd, Tifton, GA 31794
Phone: 229-386-3470


The Georgia Peanut Commission was established in 1961 by the Georgia General Assembly as the official state commodity check-off board for peanuts. The Commission was charged with the duty of carrying out programs in the areas of research, education, and promotion. The Commission is directed by a board of five (5) farmer members from the five respective districts. Each board member has one farmer advisory board member they select from his district. Other advisory board members consist of the following: National Peanut Buying Points Association, the president of Georgia Farm Bureau, and the Georgia representative from the National Peanut Board. The officers of the board are chairman, vice-chairman, and treasurer, and come from within the five voting members.